WHAT IS EXCISE TAX?

Excise Tax is an annual tax that must be
paid prior to registering a vehicle, Except
for a few statutory exemptions, all vehicles
registered in the State of Maine are subject
to the excise tax.

Excise Tax is defined by State Statute as a
tax levied annually for
the privilege of
operating a motor
vehicle or camper
trailer on the public
Ways.

WHERE DO I PAY THE
EXCISE TAX?

Newer vehicles will genetally be more
expensive to excise than older vehicles.

HOW IS THE EXCISE TAX
CALCULATED?

WHY IS THE TAX BASED ON
MSRP?

Excise tax is paid at the local town office
where the owner of the vehicle resides.
When a vehicle needs to be registered, an
excise tax is collected prior to the
registration.

HOW MUCH IS THE EXCISE TAX?

The amount of tax you pay depends on two
things:

1. 'The age of the vehicle

2. MSRP (manufacturers suggested
retail price)

Excise Tax is calculated by multiplying the

"~ MSRP by the mil rate as shown below.

The rates drop back on January 1% each
year.

Fixcise Tax was designed with equity in mind.
In 1925, this tax was enacted as a Maine Law.
At that time, the Legislature decided that the
fairest tax assessment would be based on
what the manufacturer suggests it sell for.,

"This law has remained in effect for over 75
years to ensure that everyone who drives the
same vehicle was paying the same amount of
tax.

WHERE CAN A TOWN GET THE
MSRP?

1% year .0240 mil rate
2" year .0175 mil rate
3" year .0135 miil rate
4" year .0100 mil rate
5" year .0065 mil rate
6" year .0040 mil rate

For example, a 3 year old car with an
MSRP of $19,500 would pay $263.25.

($19,500 X .0135 = $263.25)

WHERE DOES THE TAX GO?

The town that collects the excise tax can
use it as revenue towards the annual town
budget. Typically, the revenue is spent on
local road maintenance, construction and
repait.

There are several resoutces for the MSRP
that will provide information on the retail
price of a vehicle. New vehicles must have
a window sticker that will be used.

For used cars, one can use the NADA
Guide, The New Cat Cost Guide, the
Automobile Red Book and the
Automobile Blue Book.

Many towns have adopted software based
on the Red Book and can use the VIN
number in order to get the MSRP of that

vehicle.

If a town did not collect
excise tax, then they would
be forced to increase other

taxes in order to make up
the difference.




